Teacher Respect

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/03/countries-respect-teacher_n_4032354.html?utm_hp_ref=@education123

(7)

This article got me thinking about the impact my level of respect for certain teachers had on my learning. Throughout many readings I have done in my education classes, there seems to be an underlying theme of teacher respect. How to teach and act in a way that your students will respect you and how to make students feel that you respect them. Max Van Manen (1991) shared some of the various elements of pedagogical tact that teachers should have to be effective. I believe that by demonstrating those elements of pedagogical tact (understanding, listening, improvising, patience, connectivity to the students, etc.) in a classroom it makes it easy for the students to adopt a sense of respect for the teacher which in turn creates an environment for effective learning to occur. Thinking back through my experience as a learner, the teachers I respected the most all displayed those qualities consistently.

Leave a Reply

