A Child’s Uniqueness

1384954600_483e7e4698(4)

As Van Manen (1991) addressed, it is important to consider who each child is in your classroom and “always be attentive to the uniqueness of the child” (p.40). In order to make lessons relevant and of interest to every student in the class it will be important to make an attempt to get to know a little bit about their backgrounds, interests, etc.  Maxine Greene’s (1993) ideas that differences in the classroom should be embraced and not ignored is something that I hope to be able to do as a teacher, but I know it will not be easy. When I was in elementary school I can remember having class multi cultural days where we would each bring a food of some kind that was traditional to each of our heritages. At this point though, I am not really familiar with too many other ways in which uniqueness and diversity can be embraced in a classroom so I am looking forward to gaining some more ideas as to how it can be done. My field experience will likely provide me with some more exposure to how diversity and uniqueness can be handled in classrooms.

Leave a Reply

